• chrissummers06

The Three Families

The sun is shining once again on this beautiful Tuesday so we’re getting a jump start on another November Knowledge cool croc fact.

There are 25 individual species of crocodilian (including the recently classified Central African Slender Snouted Crocodile).

The 5 different types of crocodilian (Crocodiles, Alligators, Caiman, Gharial and Tomistoma) are separated into 3 families. Family Crocodylidae: This family houses the 15 species of true crocodile.

Family Alligatoridae: This family houses the 2 species of true alligator, and 6 species of their cousins the Caiman.

Family Gavialidae: This family houses the little known Gharial, and the even lesser known Tomistoma, commonly referred to as the False Gharial.

Fun fact. The Tomistoma was originally housed under Family Crocodylidae because of morphological similarities to crocodiles. Even though they were classified under the same family, Tomistomas were not counted as true crocodiles and their classification was a highly debated subject. Check out this picture below of the Tomistoma. They’ve got the coolest camouflage pattern that continues right down the snout. I love it!!

3 views0 comments
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

American Crocodile Education Sanctuary

PO Box 9, San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, Belize, Central America

+501-623-7920  |  +501-637-8769


©2019 American Crocodile Education Sanctuary. All rights reserved. Powered by Kaizen Catalyst.

ACES is a Non-Profit Organization founded by Wildlife Behaviorist & Croc Wrangler, Vince Rose, & Research Biologist, Cherie Chenot-Rose ~ Belize